CURRITUCK COUNTY LIBRARY
SPECIAL COLLECTIONS DEVELOPMENT POLICY
General Description:
The Currituck County Library holds a special non-circulating collection of genealogical and historical material with the goal of acquiring, preserving, and maintaining material relevant to the historical and genealogical record of Currituck County and its surrounding environs. The collection aims to provide information about the culture, people, places and history of coastal North Carolina with a special emphasis on Currituck County.
Collection Parameters:
The purpose of the Special Collections at the Currituck County Library is to assist those individuals conducting historical or genealogical research about Currituck County, coastal North Carolina, and its surrounding areas. We collect and archive material according to the following guidelines and levels:
Comprehensive: Materials specifically about the history, people and places of Currituck County, in print, photographic and microfilm formats which are not already represented in the collection.
Moderate: Materials about the history, people and places which surround Currituck County (neighboring counties and states) in print, photographic and microfilm formats which are not already represented in the collection.
Minimal: Materials about North Carolina in general, or portions of North Carolina which do not border Currituck County; genealogical materials which do not include families with some connection to Currituck or surrounding counties; general historical or genealogical materials better placed in the general circulating portion of the library’s collection.
Due to space and archival considerations, we are unable to accept the following:
-Non-Local Old Newspapers
-Magazines (Life, National Geographic, etc.)
-Artifacts or Ephemera Better Housed in a Museum or More Relevant Locality/Facility
-Damaged Materials
-Personal Documents/Genealogical Work/Manuscripts Not Relevant to Currituck County
-Non-Local Photographs
Due to the specialized nature of the collection and the confined space available to house the collection, all intended donations of material are subject to the review and acceptance of the County Librarian. The Currituck County Library reserves the right to accept or reject any proposed gift or donation, as well as any condition placed upon it. The library does not accept “on deposit” material unless by special agreement; all items donated to the library become the property of the library, and are considered gifts without restriction on further use, or as to future disposition, unless otherwise stated in the donor agreement. As the owner of all donated materials, the Currituck County Library retains physical rights to the collection’s materials. Existing copyright laws apply for the reproduction of all materials. All requests for reproduction of materials should be directed to the County Librarian. Materials in the collection should be cited as: “Courtesy of: Currituck County Library Special Collections, Barco, North Carolina.”
Adopted by the Currituck County Public Library Board of Trustees, 2023.