In the census years between 1790 and 1860, anywhere from 1,000 to 2,000 individuals were enumerated as enslaved in Currituck County.
Their names and families remained largely unknown to us...until now.
Currituck County Public Library is pleased to announce the availability of the EPICC (Enslaved People in Currituck County) database. Drawing on available documents in the county, the database currently contains over 2,000 entries, and is searchable by forename and surname, as well as by date. Each entry includes all parties involved and any descriptive language from the original document relative to the enslaved person or persons. Related entries are indexed together for ease of use. The database is an invaluable tool for those descendants searching for ancestors who were enslaved in Currituck County. EPICC will continue to be updated as additional documents are located and transcribed.
While we are pleased to share our collections with researchers, Currituck County Library can make no guarantee as to the accuracy, veracity or reliability of any of the information contained therein. In keeping with accepted archival practices, collections are accepted in an un-altered state, and are not assessed for their accuracy or adherence to academic or genealogical research standards. Furthermore, we will not be held liable for any errors, inaccuracies or omissions that may possibly be contained in these collections.
Copyright is asserted on all documents presented herein by the Currituck County Library. All rights reserved. No part of these finding aids or indexes may be reproduced, distributed, or transmitted electronically or in any form or by any means, including photocopying, recording, or other electronic or mechanical methods, without the prior express written consent of the author.
Please note that not all of our collections are listed here; call the library should you have a question about our additional holdings.