NCLIVE Digital Library
Visit your library 24/7, from the comfort of your own home. CCPL offers dozens of online resources via NCLIVE. Access them anytime, anywhere—all you need is an internet connection and your library card!
Download eBooks and eAudiobooks, stream TV shows and movies, learn a new language or skill, get homework help, create a resume, and more!
Get started by exploring the following highlighted resources, or browse all NC LIVE databases by clicking here.
Business
- Business Market Research Collection — This database contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analytica, and Snapshots.
eBooks
- HomeGrown eBooks — eBooks from a variety of North Carolina publishers. Includes novels by well-known NC authors, popular and scholarly nonfiction, and award-winning short fiction and poetry.
- ABC-CLIO Collection — History and literature eBooks, including the series Daily Life, Critical Companions, Literature in Context, as well as American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography.
- eBooks by EBSCOhost — Over 26,000 fiction, reference, scholarly, and professional books available here.
- SIRS Discoverer — Designed specifically for elementary and middle school students. Offers articles, nonfiction books, images, activities, and websites curated for educational relevance, age appropriateness, and readability.
Finance
- Consumer Reports — Popular collection of product reviews and recommendations for cars, appliances, electronics, personal finance, and health information.
Genealogy & History
- HeritageQuest — Treasury of American genealogical sources: unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. Includes historical census, PERSI, Revolutionary War records, and more.
Health & Medicine
- MedlinePlus — Common diseases and conditions, health promotion and wellness, drugs info, medical dictionaries and more.
Job Help & Resumes
- Cypress Resume — Specifically designed for job seekers skittish about writing, this tool allows anyone to create a professional resume in a matter of minutes.
Language Learning
- Transparent Language — Provides a fun, effective, and engaging experience for learners of all levels looking to build their listening, speaking, reading, and writing skills in a foreign language. Over 110 languages to choose from, including English for speakers of over 30 languages.
Legal Help
- LawHelpNC — Information and links about your legal rights, the law, the courts, legal forms and more.
North Carolina
- NCPedia — Information about the state, its history, people, government, and educational institutions.
Newspapers
Homework Help
- Gale in Context: Biography — Discover the world's most influential people by searching narrative biographies, news, magazine, and multimedia content.
- Open Education North Carolina Collection — Contains free, open textbooks for the most frequently-taught courses across North Carolina's 2 and 4-year colleges and universities. Faculty can adopt these open educational resources (OER) to save their students money and lower the overall cost of higher education.
Streaming Movies & TV
- Just For Kids Streaming Collection — A thoroughly kid-safe, advertisement-free media platform for kids to freely explore and enjoy. Watch favorites like Franklin the Turtle, The Berenstain Bears, Sesame Street and more.
- Films on Demand Video Collection — Thousands of high quality videos, including popular shows from BBC, PBS, HBO, and more. Also features Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award-winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.
Test Prep & Skill Building
- LearningExpress Library Complete and PrepStep Academic — Practice tests, interactive tutorials, and eBooks for students and adult learners. Includes practice tests such as GED, GRE, SAT, TEAS, and more. Supports those looking to improve core academic skills, pass a high school equivalency test, prepare for college, join the military, obtain occupational certification, find a job, change careers, become a U.S. citizen, and much more.
