EAST ALBEMARLE REGIONAL LIBRARY SYSTEM
COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT POLICY
INTRODUCTION
The East Albemarle Regional Library (EARL) is a regional system providing library services to the residents of and visitors to Camden, Currituck, Dare and Pasquotank counties in Northeastern North Carolina. System headquarters are located in the Pasquotank County Library in Elizabeth City.
MISSION STATEMENT
The EARL Board of Trustees has adopted the following mission:
The East Albemarle Regional Library (EARL) System is a strong community partner that provides resources, services, and programs to foster inclusivity, creativity, curiosity, and lifelong learning.
DEFINITIONS
Collection Development includes the planning, evaluating, selecting, acquiring, organizing, displaying, and weeding of the Library's collections.
Library materials include, but are not limited to, the following; books, magazines, newspapers, audiobooks, music, movies, large print materials, online databases, digital and streaming content, special collections, and new formats as they evolve.
SUPPORT FOR INTELLECTUAL FREEDOM
EARL provides information on many topics, reading levels, and interests in an environment that supports an individual’s right to have access to ideas representing multiple points of view. To meet its goals and objectives, EARL must protect the freedom of all to choose their own information. Access is provided readily and equitably to users, regardless of race, ethnicity, nationality, religion, age, disability, gender identity, gender expression, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, or political views.
OBJECTIVES
EARL’s collections are developed and managed to meet the majority of the educational, informational, and recreational needs of the Library’s service area. Since each of the strategic directions noted above correlates with a materials goal, in order to accomplish its goals, EARL will focus on print and non-print material to support community requests for information about topics of everyday interest and concern. EARL staff build and maintain patron-oriented collections by anticipating and responding to their needs and expectations.
Collection decisions are made in conjunction with EARL’s Mission Statement, including the following:
RESPONSIBILITY FOR SELECTION
Ultimate responsibility for materials selection rests with the Regional Director and the County Librarians, who operate within the framework of policies determined by the Board of Trustees. The County Librarians determine the budget, guidelines, and organizational structure for the staff who select resources and develop displays. Selectors choose appropriate materials for their collection areas, weed to keep their areas current and in good physical condition, and spend their budget in a timely and organized manner. Library staff members and the public are encouraged to recommend materials for consideration. The addition of new library resources requested by patrons shall meet the standards of the EARL’s Collection Development Policy. If a requested material is acquired, the requestor will be notified as soon as it is available. Contact your county library for a Request for Library Resources form.
Updated October 2024. Click the link below to access the EARL Collection Development Policy in its entirety.